My efforts in the lean kitchen zone paid off… for now

 Yesterday I was feeling ambitious, which is rather rare because lately I’ve been fighting the flu. I was out of cornbread, and needed more food to bring for lunch.

I haven’t been eating very well lately, and by not eating very well I mean I’ve been consuming m&m’s every other day in a trail mix, and having popcorn every other day as well. That is my definition of not eating as good.

I am gluten free and dairy free, and I found this recipe a while back for gluten free cornbread, and I tweaked the recipe again, and it came out delicious! I will do my best to accurately provide the recipe for you, but I tend to not measure when I cook/bake so if you have any problems baking it, get back to me!

This is the cornbread recipe:

2 cups of yellow cornmeal

2 eggs (or egg whites)

2 cups of buttermilk (I use soy or almond milk with lemon juice/apple cider vinegar)

1 tsp of baking powder

1 tsp of baking soda

1/4 cup of grapeseed oil (or whatever you want)

1/4 cup of buckwheat flour

1 tsp of cinnamon

1 tsp of stevia

Preheat oven to 350F, mix all ingredients together and add to a pan, I use an 8 inch square pan and it doesn’t all fit, but it should fit into a large pie plate.

Bake for 20-25 minutes until tester comes out clean.

So onto my next ambition, I opened the fridge looking for something healthy to make for my lunch today and tomorrow, I found: chickpeas, broccoli, zucchini, carrots, I didn’t want to use mayo as a base and I don’t have any avocados to mush (great sadness!) so… I didn’t know where I was going with this. With only one income in the household we can’t afford to eat meat everyday so I was thinking of something else that could make my creation a little more spectacular… and then the thought came up:

LENTILS!!!!!!!

Oh, they saved the day, I boiled green lentils and added them to my salad, so this is the recipe for a very yummy lentil salad:

1 cup of green lentils

1 cup of chopped up broccoli

1 cup of zucchini (I think)

1 graded carrot

1 cup of chickpeas

4 cloves finely chopped garlic

1 tsp of dillweed

1 tsp of Mrs. Dash

1/2 tsp of cumin

1/4 tsp of salt

1 TBSP of olive oil

Mix all ingredients together and just keep adding spices till you get the taste that you want! I ate this with gluten free crackers that I got from Costco (I can’t remember the brand) and it was delicious!

, , ,

  1. #1 by Aunt Loretta on July 22, 2011 - 23:14

    Miriam, can’t wait to try your recipe for gluten free corn bread. However, I am not putting the oven on while it is in high 90’s. We only have AC in our small office room where I am spending a lot of time lately.

Leave a Reply

