Weekend of food and knitting (my other addiction)

I have this other secret obsession…well no so secret anymore: it’s knitting. I LOVE knitting, I go in and out of phases, depending on how my last creation went, I have been out of knitting since March, mainly because I was knitting a beret (was turning out BEAUTIFULLY) and I ran out of yarn half way through and didn’t have money to get more yarn (*cough it was around $26 this yarn for not much yardage) so I was frustrated and put my needles down. Since then I was too busy planning a wedding to have time to pick the needles up again, until this weekend.

My coworker just had twins, and I didn’t get them a baby shower gift cause well I had no money, until I thought of this brilliant idea to MAKE my gift! I had a gift card from the wedding to a yarn shop  (yes my friends know me well) so I used that to get some yarn and needles and off experimenting I did!

Little Mary Jane style baby booties! When the first one turned out I was so ridiculously happy cause they are so adorably cute! So tiny with cute buttons on the side!

It took me about 1.5 hours just to make one booty, and that was knitting as fast as I could, it took me one afternoon to make one pair, I just started on my second pair! If anyone wants some I will gladly make some and send them to you! =)

                         

Fishy Business

Okay so on to the food aspect of my weekend. On Friday night I made yummmmyyy breaded haddock fish, and for once, Paul actually devoured it! That’s when I knew I had succeeded in my breading seasoning. (Paul doesn’t really care for fish in general so this is a great improvement).

What you will need:

  • 4 pieces of medium sized haddock
  • 1 piece of gluten free corn bread crumbled up(refer to my recipe on gluten free corn bread)
  • 1/4 – 1/3 cup of brown rice flour
  • 2 tsp of parsley flakes
  • Dash of salt and pepper
  • Dash of Montreal chicken spice
  • Mix all ingredients together in a pie plate.
  • 1 egg whipped up.
  • Olive oil

Put the piece of haddock in the egg, make sure it is coated on both sides then place it in the breading, bread both sides then put it in the pan. I had the pan on medium heat, so the haddock would slowly cook, fish is very quick to cook but I wanted it to get through half the haddock before flipping it. Once it was flipped I put some olive oil (1 tsp) on top of each piece to add to the flavour. I could do this because i wasn’t using high heat. (Never use olive oil on high heat) Then serve! It is truly delicious!

Perfect gluten free pancakes

I’ve been making gluten free pancakes for a long time, and they’ve been okay, but I’ve never been able to make them just like normal pancakes ever, until this weekend. I normally make pancakes on Sunday morning, along with eggs and bacon, that’s our traditional Sunday brunch. Well I was taking ingredients out and I had an idea. Thanks to Stephanie Tucci’s baking skills, I’ve incorporated some of her ideas into my baking and lo and behold: Perfect pancakes! The picture really doesn’t do justice.

  • 1.5 cups of buckwheat flour
  • 1 egg (whip up the egg whites before hand to make the pancakes fluffier)
  • 1 tsp of baking powder
  • 1/3 cup of apple sauce
  • 2 TBSP of Dark cocoa
  • 1 mashed banana
  • 2 TBSP of brown rice cane sugar
  • 1 cup of soy milk (or almond milk) I started out just pouring some in until it got to the right consistency so this is a guess.

Mix all the ingredients together EXCEPT the soy milk, this goes in at the end, I used a beater because with the mash banana a whisk won’t work so well. Start pouring the soy milk in at the end until the batter becomes not quite liquidy but not watery.

To end I have to give tribute to my husband because he made his first batch of bread from scratch last week by himself! The bread turned out lovely! Sorry gluten free fans, this is normal whole wheat brown bread.

That’s it for now! =) Hope you try out the recipes, if you do let me know!

, , ,

  1. #1 by Mom on August 15, 2011 - 18:00

    Those are really cute booties. And Those loaves of bread look yummy, Paul..I am surprised you have any fish left to take a picture since they look so good.

  2. #2 by markizy on December 20, 2011 - 05:51

    I genuinely enjoy reading on this website , it has superb posts . “When a man’s willing and eager, the gods join in.” by Aeschylus.

Leave a Reply

