Nutrition efficiency

When people talk to me about weight loss, I usually always bring up their current food menu and how often they eat, what they had for breakfast etc. Usually I try to hold my looks to myself, sometimes they slip out and they admit right away that they don’t eat as well as they should or don’t take enough time to prepare their meals.

Nutrition is key to survival, to performing your best on a daily basis. People tend to forget this, that’s okay, we all get busy with our own lives and forget the absolute essentials that keep us going. To catch yourself on some bad habits I’d start with asking yourself:

  1. What did I eat today? What did I eat yesterday? Start a food journal.
  2. How often have I eaten today? Did I have a good breakfast?
  3. How many vegetables have I eaten? Or any at all?
  4. How much sugar have I had lately? Pop included.
  5. How much have I eaten out? Tim Hortons, Starbucks, restaurants etc.
  6. Have I been craving a lot lately, not enough energy? Feeling bloated, bowels not moving properly etc?
  7. How much water have I had?

It’s very easy to forget about the way your body feels and this is extremely important! I am very aware of my stomach, I’m not sure why, but that’s just the way I’ve been since I lost weight when I was 16. My stomach(before pregnancy) expands and decreases a lot depending on the time of day and the food that I’ve eaten. It was rather frustrating but after i learned that I could control it through eating, I think my stomach was happier and overall I felt better.  

Learn about the glycemic index, it’s a very useful tool to better your energy levels through food. It teaches you what foods are more nutritious than others. You can’t eat pineapple 3x a day every day because there’s simply too much sugar in it. Whole wheat whole grain bread from the grocery store isn’t at nutritious as making your own, you know what you put into your bread. Why does their whole wheat bread stay fluffy? Real whole wheat bread is very dense. ??

A calorie isn’t just a calorie, just because it’s low fat doesn’t mean it’s healthy for you. How much sugar is in low fat items?

The key is to evaluate your foods very closely, lean proteins, low glycemic carbs, authentic whole grains, vegetables, lots of vegetables, legumes. Stay away from artificial ingredients as much as possible, artificial flavours, read the ingredients on everything you buy, if the first ingredient is sugar, always put it back on the shelf! Unless of course it’s sugar for baking that you’re buying. 😛

Book an appointment with a nutritionist. Focus on your foods, set time aside for food preparation, this is essential to a successful permanent diet. Always shop after you eat, and always prepare at the same times during the week. Plan your meals ahead of time. Eating healthy doesn’t have to be expensive, don’t pick unrealistic meals for yourself, legumes are cheap and are incredibly rich for you. Beans, beans, beans. Keep your eyes on the sales. It’s a little bit of work but it definitely pays off.

Take care of your body!

,

  1. #1 by Mom on September 7, 2011 - 12:18

    Very good information. However, I have a clarifying question. Did you mean you could or couldn’t eat pineapple 3 X a day with it’s high sugar content?

    • #2 by miriambulcher on September 7, 2011 - 12:29

      Hehe, I corrected it, thanks! Can’t eat…

Leave a Reply

