Inspiration

First off, I apologize for only posting once last week. My work schedule was RIDICULOUS, I was so busy and then came home, made food, cleaned up, barely had time to relax and it was off to bed again  (trying to get to bed earlier these days). So I am sincerely sorry! My schedule has opened up a bit so I try to be more on track!

My coworker (bless her heart!) sent me this very interesting inspirational article about this mother who was scared she would never lose her baby fat once becoming pregnant and would also never get rid of her stretch marks. I highly suggest reading the article: Inspirational Interview

The gist of the story is, is that this woman Amanda, before becoming pregnant competed in figure competitions, so she challenged herself once pregnant to maintain some fitness and also watch her eating. What I found interesting was a: she used almond oil on her skin religiously to prevent stretch marks, I might get me some of that this week! Also b: she maintained a workout regime of at least 5 times a week, 3 including weights. *Smack!* to myself because that was my goal, to NOT lose the weights and it’s the one thing that I’ve been fighting with since I’ve been pregnant.

I’ve said it to other people, that the thing I despise most about “advertising” in the fitness industry is yourself, posting your workouts, and kinda puffing up your ergo. It turns most people away and you get funny looks, unless you’re doing it humbly really. But I realized the other day I have to make myself accountable for my workouts, and so I am going to do that through my blog. I am going to post my workouts, as well as what I eat. One thing I’ve wanted to do for a while is keep a food journal, again, a lack of motivation had prevented me from doing so, but in order to really maintain and appropriate my weight for the next 2 trimesters, I think this is the key. Knowing what I eat, and making sure I am not consuming more than an extra 500 calories a day in a good caloric form.

Keeping a food journal is an experience that everyone should try out if you haven’t done so before. It brings to light how much more/not enough that you are eating and what types of foods you are eating etc. It’s a great tool really! It’ll be neat to compare my eating habits during pregnancy compared to those afterwards.

I am finding that into this pregnancy the more crucial is it for me to exercise, if i don’t exercise I don’t sleep, it’s much more relevant than it has ever been for me. Finding that right zone and maintaining my form and my knowledge in the weight room is crucial for me. If you don’t use it, you lose it! Pregnancy is definitely no excuse to stay away from the weights.

Stay tuned, if anyone has any requests for topics for me to write about, please let me know! I occasionally get writers block, more often than not. =)

, ,

  1. #1 by Madeline on November 2, 2011 - 17:23

    I’m catching up on your blog posts 🙂 I really hope you are feeling better and exercise does help a lot! Eating small meals and just keeping something in my stomach all day helped me with the nausea. You really inspire me to workout more!

  2. #2 by Madeline on November 2, 2011 - 17:23

    btw, love the dino poster!

Leave a Reply

