The key to motivation is not others

The key to motivation is not others, they can inspire you and give you some motivation but the real stuff comes from you.
I realized this morning how utterly essential it is to be positive towards others in every aspect, partially I was thinking of how I a going to motivate my son and encourage him to give him confidence when he gets over. Yet that method of thinking transfers over everyone.

When was the last time someone outside your family encouraged you about anything on your life? Whether it was about accomplishing something, or getting your education or simply making an effort to eat better or help other people?

I know I haven’t been motivated by others other than my husband(thank God for him), it’s rather depressing when you think about it.

20120703-131513.jpg

Facebook is a great tool, it’s been said that people who post their weight loss progress on Facebook or twitter are less likely to help keep the weight off. Hopefully people aren’t doing it simply for attention but for health reasons and are simply looking for some credit and some motivation. Though, if you see someone working on some goal on facebook and you havent commented- be sure to comment and say some kind encouraging words. It goes a long way!

Some people dont comment because it’s easy to get jealous when you see a friends progress, but is that because you’re lazy or you just need that person to motivate you because YOU can do it.

It’s been 3 months since I’ve given birth to my son, I’ve lost almost 50 lbs and only my dad and my husband have commented on it. Sure it’s no big deal is it? I’ve only been working my ass off and changed my eating- but no one encourages me? Thank goodness I have enough motivation to keep myself going or I’d be screwed. Point of the matter is- find your own motivation because it doesn’t come from others, if you’re lucky enough to get motivation from others: consider it a cherry on top. 😉

Slight change of subject- I’ve been training with the trx as I can’t go to the gym at the moment(a breast feeding mothers challenge!) and I found some new great exercises this morning on YouTube that I wanted to share:

TRX lower body exercises

If you thought that doing a bridge on a Swiss ball was hard, think again. My hamstrings were seizing up the second I started it, mind you I’m a bit more out of shape than normal. It’s a great add to your leg day. If you can get your hands on a TRX at a gym- give it a try!

20120703-131215.jpg

Until next time- motivate yourself and happy working out! 🙂

, , , ,

  1. #1 by Mom on July 3, 2012 - 14:13

    Miriam, I knew you were working out but I had no idea you lost 50 pounds. That is wonderful! Keep up the good work. God bless you.

  2. #2 by hbhannahbrown on July 10, 2012 - 23:19

    Whoa! That’s amazing that you’ve lost 50 pounds. I haven’t seen you in a while but I’m sure you are looking just fantastic these days. Plus you’ve got that happy married-woman/motherly glow I’m sure. God bless you and all your hard work. Thanks for the motivation! 😀

Leave a Reply

