Eating + Fleecy Knits

It’s been a few weeks since I last posted. It’s not because I have been intentionally ignoring my readers, it’s because my business: Fleecy Knits has taken off to a rather hectic start!
For those of you that don’t know, I run a small business on the side. It’s not because I simply enjoy knitting that I have this business, it’s because funds are extremely low in our family and I am trying to pull in a little bit more $$ to help things around the house. I knit hats, headbands and mittens that are fleece lined so that way you don’t get the wind on your ears and head in the winter time.

If you care to check it out: my shop on Etsy: http://www.etsy.com/shop/BulcherM?ref=si_shop

Last week I had a photoshoot so I was spending my whole entire week trying to have a good amount of items to photograph. Currently I am waiting on the pictures so I am excited! Within a few days I will have quite a few new items in my shop.

I have realized that a huge part of having a successful online business is having good pictures. Pictures speak so loud, people want your shop, business and items to look extremely professional and that is what I am working on. As you can probably see, a lot of my items do not look very professional, well, that was from when I first started out. You live you learn!

Yesterday I added these cute toddler fingerless mitts which I am rather proud of. They are fleece lined of course. Yesterday I made Thumbless toddler mitts, perhaps I will have pictures to share them with you tomorrow.

On another note, which is fitness related. For the past 2-3 weeks my weight loss has kind of plateaued, which really stinks because I need to stay on track if I want to reach part 1. of my weight loss goal by December. I was getting a bit worried. I haven’t been able to do a whole lot of cardio lately because I’ve been knitting so much and paired with going to bed later,  I don’t have much energy. I have been buckling down though and definitely have been trying to maintain my resistance training workouts. This morning I got up to take care of my son, I looked in the mirror and I thought my tummy looked a bit smaller, and so then I weighed myself and sure enough! I had lost 2 lbs! YAY!
I think the difference is that for the past couple weeks I was living the mentality that I shouldn’t be eating a lot of food, recently I cut out my grains to help aid in my weight loss (as I used to when I first lost a lot of weight back when I was 16), but I was probably only having about 4 meals a day, I was going to bed really hungry, getting up late and only having a small breakfast, then lunch then a snack and then supper. Also I wasn’t eating enough protein. So yesterday I made it my goal to eat 6 meals a day, and to not let myself get hungry, to not worry about how many calories I was eating, but to make sure I was getting enough protein paired with good fats and good carbohydrates. Overall it helped my workout more, I was more energize and lo and behold, I finally lost a couple pounds.

So, if you’re trying to lose weight, don’t be stupid like me and not eat enough because that won’t get you anywhere. Try and eat healthy meals more often! It does wonders!

Oh, and check out my shop online. 🙂

 

 

, , , ,

  1. #1 by Lucy Gabrielle Togni on August 29, 2012 - 16:13

    YAY miriam!

  2. #2 by Mom on August 30, 2012 - 00:37

    Maybe this change will help Richard be more satisfied also. You need good protein and fats and extra calories when you are nursing.

Leave a Reply

