Bad blogger

I’m a terrible blogger. Honestly. Since I had my little boy, I can’t seem to find a good enough excuse to come on and update regularly. But really that’s just an excuse like “I don’t have time to workout!” or “I don’t have time to eat well!” Of which isn’t really an excuse so really I’m just gonna smack myself on the hand for not being true to my blogger followers. I don’t have many but I do know that those of you that follow me do enjoy reading my blog.

So, I’ve finally kicked into gear and I am going to try and be more consistent, once a week even, is my goal!

Step 1: I have now addmitted I’m an awful blogger.

Step 2: Actually talk about something worth reading

I have learned an insane amount about nutrition since I gave birth last year. I know I posted a while ago that I was going to be studying Holistic Nutrition, that is still the plan, but I have to wait until my finances get figured out a bit more but I am itching to start it! I am learning more and more every day about nutrition and it’s so fantastic! Not just general nutrition, but Holistic Nutrition. In my opinion, there is only one type of nutrition: Holistic, not general carbs, protein, fat etc etc nutrition. This is going into REAL food, and learning what real food does for you and your body and how you can curb sooo many health problems with nutrition. Food really is a drug, it’s the pill we take everyday to make our lives better, or worse, depending on how you eat.

Lately I have been dipping my hands into a lot of different ways of eating. In November of 2012 I tested out the Ketogenic diet, I did that because my weight loss had plateaued and I needed something to kick start my metabolism again. Well it defintely worked but it’s a very strict diet and I wouldn’t want to stay on it permanently. I stayed on it for about 2 months and it did the job, but I was ready to be off of it. Until this point I had heard a lot about the Paleo diet but had never really seriously looked into it. I liked the sound of it, but wasn’t quite ready to give up all forms of processed food (condiments) and such. I don’t eat hardly any processed food anyway, but it’s a jump to make the commitment to buy grass fed and local(organic) products. I also didn’t feel that going completely grain free was what I wanted or needed for my body. It’s alll a game really.

For the last 3-4 years I have been entirely gluten and dairy free. A dietary change that has made my life much more enjoyable! I suffered from constant bloating when I was in college, my stomach felt like a pump, it went up, then went down, and back up and back down. It was frustrating. I also had terrible energy and suffered from lack of focus in my schooling.

Since last year, I have been much more focused on looking at food with the approach that it FUELS ME, not that I eat it because I want to, or because I feel like it, or because it tastes good. If I want to feel great, I have to eat the proper foods. Food is my drug and my pharmacy, it affects how I feel, my ability to think and how I perform. With this approach I can honestly say that my energy levels have sky rocketed! In addition to that, I have been loosely following the “paleo” way of eating, I don’t call it a diet, but you can I suppose if you don’t plan on sticking with it. So far I have found it to produce great results for ME, (it’s individual for everyone). Eliminating grains hasn’t been overly difficult either, though occasionaly I will have some, especially if I am craving it but it’s infrequent.

I would encourage an approach of WHOLE Holistic Local/organic, range fed/grass fed food for those that want to begin a journey to a healthier lifestyle. Not a simple diet or plan but just a very simple way of eating = naturally without any additives, GMO’s, processing etc.

I’ll expand on recipes later, that’s all I do these days is look up recipes, it’s so much fun! I have much more fun cooking now then I ever used to, I can cook what I ENJOY eating and I never have to worry about not being able to make a delicious meal that I absolutely enjoy that can suffice a craving without the guilt.

 

  1. #1 by Mom on April 12, 2013 - 14:31

    🙂

Leave a Reply

